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Analytics v4. Geoffrey King | Sales Engineer, NA September 17th 2010. Sales Overview (Internal). Agenda. Mission statement Conversion enhancements Performance by frequency Visibility metrics Unique enhancements Smart versioning reporting Miscellaneous. Mission statement.
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Analytics v4 Geoffrey King | Sales Engineer, NASeptember 17th 2010 Sales Overview (Internal)
Agenda • Mission statement • Conversion enhancements • Performance by frequency • Visibility metrics • Unique enhancements • Smart versioning reporting • Miscellaneous
Mission statement Animation if needed Is “Fade - very fast” • A more powerful and advanced analytics tool • MediaMind platform look and feel for better user experience • New metrics to improve MediaMind’s data-oriented offering • Enhanced capabilities for analysing creative performance 44ptArial ALL text is lower case
Conversions Increased Capabilities
Conversion data settings Animation if needed Is “Fade - very fast” • Cookie window enhancements • Introduction of conversion attribution models • Increased path length
Cookie window: the predefined number of days where a users actions (impressions and clicks) are considered before a conversion. “ ”
Cookie window example Ad: C Action: Click Ad: A Action: Click Ad: B Action: Click Ad: C Action: Impression Conversion Time Day 0 5 10 15 20 25 Day 30 Impression Window Click Window Impression Window Impression Window Click Window Click Window
Cookie window enhancements Animation if needed Is “Fade - very fast” • Previously: you could only set one window per account and you had to use predefined periods • all advertisers in the account needed to use the same window • Analytics v4: you can apply individual rules per advertiser and set any number of days: 1 - 90
Conversion attribution: the method and business rules that govern how conversions are awarded “ ”
Conversion attribution enhancements Animation if needed Is “Fade - very fast” • Previously: conversion attributed to the last event in the path (imp or click) in standard reports • Note: as long as the event was within the defined cookie window Ad: C Action: Click Ad: A Action: Click Ad: B Action: Click Ad: C Action: Impression Conversion Day 0 5 10 15 20 25 Day 30 Impression Window Click Window Time Received 100% of the conversion
Conversion attribution enhancements • Analytics v4: you can now select between three conversion attribution rules: • Last event - the current conversion rule • Click over impression - new • Last click, disregard impressions - new • Each rule can be applied to a particular advertiser • Note: the cookie window also apply
Click over impression • Definition: attributes the conversion to the last click in the path. If no clicks occurred, the conversion is attributed to the last impression Ad: C Action: Click Ad: A Action: Click Ad: B Action: Click Ad: C Action: Impression Conversion Day 0 5 10 15 20 25 Day 30 Impression Window Click Window Time The previous impression is ignored for the clicked ad in the path
Last click, disregard impressions • Definition: attributes the conversion to the last click in the path. If no clicks occurred, no conversion is counted. Ad: C Action: Click Ad: C Action: Impression Ad: A Action: Click Ad: B Action: Impression Ad: B Action: Click Ad: C Action: Impression Ad: C Action: Impression Conversion Conversion Day 0 Day 0 5 5 10 10 15 15 20 20 25 25 Day 30 Day 30 Impression Window Impression Window Click Window Click Window Time Time The previous impression is totally disregarded. Only clicks are included in the path No clicks in the path so no conversion is recorded
Test multiple cookie windows and attributions Animation if needed Is “Fade - very fast” • Analytics v4: set up to 6 different cookie windows and conversion attribution combinations • Select the required rule when running the report and analyse immediately
Path length: how many events (impressions) are tracked in the users path to conversion “ ”
Path length • Previously: only the last 5 events were stored • Analytics v4: track up to 100 events: • 10 events: provided for free (industry standard) • 11 – 100 events: at a cost Imp 9 Conversion Day 0 5 10 15 20 25 Day 30 Imp 1 Imp 2 Imp 4 Imp 5 Imp 6 Imp 7 Imp 8 Imp 10 Analytics v4 (up to 100) Time Previously (last 5 events) Imp 3
Path length reporting • When creating the report, select a path length • Maximum of 50 events can be included in this report
How can we use this? • Provide more extensive analyse • Track as many events as necessary and learn how your audience interact with your brand
Side note on analytics: cookie windows Animation if needed Is “Fade - very fast” • A study by Mediacom in the US • Cookie window is determined by identifying the point where response rate of test group (exposed) converges statistically with that of control group (non exposed).
Performance by Frequency Increased frequency analysis capabilities
Performance by frequency enhancements Animation if needed Is “Fade - very fast” • New metrics • Advertiser level control of conversion settings • New frequency buckets • Inclusion of dwell rate
New frequency metrics Animation if needed Is “Fade - very fast” • Unique at frequency level: • The number of unique users who reached the indicated frequency of viewed impressions • Total impressions to frequency: • The sum of impressions viewed up to the indicated frequency • Total conversions to frequency: • The sum of conversions recorded up to the indicated frequency for all users • Conversion rate to frequency: • The percent of ‘Total Conversions to Frequency’ out of ‘Total Impressions to Frequency’
Advertiser level control of conversion settings • Control the cookie window and conversion attribution model governing conversions
New frequency buckets • Previously: we only tracked frequencies 1–5, all additional frequencies went into the group ‘6+’ • Analytics v4: we track frequencies 1,2,3...30, 31-40, 41-50, 51-60, 61-70, 71-100 and 100+ Analytics v4 Previously
Inclusion of dwell rate Animation if needed Is “Fade - very fast” • The Dwell Rate metric has been added • View optimal frequency for dwell rate, and accordingly defines the frequency strategy
How can we use this? • Learn frequency levels and impressions volumes required to hit desired reach • Analyse the impact of repeat exposures: • Direct response: Conversion Rates, CTR • User engagement: Dwell Rate and Average Dwell Time
Visibility Metrics How can I be sure somebody saw my ads?
Visible impressions: the number of impressions that were served and viewed by users “ ”
The problems Animation if needed Is “Fade - very fast” • Ads may be placed so far down a page that they never appear on the screen • Increasing number of performance buys • The user bandwidth may be slow and they have scrolled away from the ad before it was displayed • How can I benchmark placements in worse locations on the page against more premium to determine ROI?
The solution • Analytics v4: release of visible impression metric • Only counts if ad is viewable for 1+ seconds On page load 728x90 Above the fold User browser screen (current viewed area) After user scrolled 300x 250 Below the fold
New visibility metrics • Visible impressions: • Number of impressions served that were displayed on screen • Visible impressions rate: • The percent of impressions viewed out of the measured impressions for visibility evaluation proposes • Recorded impressions rate: • The percent of impressions successfully* recorded for visibility evaluation purposes out of served impressions • Note: this metric is provided at a cost $$$ * In some cases it is not possible to know whether ads were visible or not. For example, when serving ads to IFRAMES. Until June 1, 2011 $2,250 per advertiser for three months of unlimited use. Until January 1, 2011 $7,500 per advertiser for twelve months of unlimited use. Starting August 22nd 2011 An additional $0.02 CPM. In all cases the first month is free.
Visibility reporting • Available in: • Analytics reports: Delivery Summary, Campaign Summary • Analytics tools: Custom Report Builder Number of recorded impressions = 500,000 Visible impression rate = 100,000/500,000
How can we use this? • Understand quickly how often your ads are seen on sites, influence future buys • Understand how this impacts ROI, does paying for below the fold impression give better ROI? Report source: CRB
Unique Enhancements Greater accuracy and power
Unique impression enhancements • Adjusted unique impression counting • Unique dwell metric • Impression with dwell metric
Adjusted unique: a statistical method for counting unique impressions, aligned with the IAB measurement standards “ ”
Adjusted unique • Previously: we identified unique users based on cookies. This often results in over counting • The problem with cookies? • Some users delete cookies • Some users block cookies altogether • Some users use more than once computer/browser etc • A UK study found that 33% of UK users delete cookies every month • The same study found that cookies are over counted by x5.1 Source: comSore, September 2009 – Proposal for a new Person-Centric Measure
Adjusted unique • Analytics v4: a new statistical algorithm to project the number of unique users • Analyses users with reliable cookies as a sample to statistically project the activity of the entire population • Also influences unique; clicks, expanding users, video viewers and dwell. Only available in special report in Analytics sum of ‘good’ cookie Campaign Frequency = X served impressions sum of ‘good’ impressions
Adjusted unique example Time Day 0 5 10 15 20 25 Day 30 Other exposures Campaign period = 2 Bob deleted cookie User: Adrian (4) User: Geoff (1) User: Geoff (1) User: Bob (3) User: Bob (2) User: Geoff (1) 1 Campaign Frequency = X 4 2
New unique metrics • Unique Dwell: • The number of unique users who spent at least one second engaging with the ad • Impressions with Dwell: • The total number of impressions for which users engaged with the ad for at least one second • Found in the following reports: • Unique metrics summary report • Adjusted unique report • Campaign presentation • Custom report builder
How can we use this? • Soon to be certified by the IAB • Increased accuracy in counting unique metrics • Apply analysis to the metrics that count
Smart Versioning Reporting Increased tracking and reporting flexibility
Tracking smart versioned changes to creative • Previously: track changes in the ad using the “Ad History” log or two custom reports • The problem? • Only PS could generate reports displaying more metrics • Difficult to read • No context on what the change(s) were
Tracking smart versioned changes to creative • Analytics v4: additional labelling to provide more informative tracking and reporting analysis • Smart Version Group: • User defined name for the version of creative that can be accessed in analytics • Smart Version (Y/N) (Reporting Field): • Indicates whether the ad unit has a smart version capability
Reporting example • Found in the following reports: • Online report (flat and formatted – grouped by ad name) • Custom report builder
How can we use this? • Give creative versions informative names • Easily benchmark performance of versions • Vertical comparison to see what performed best
High Definition (HD) video reporting • Ability to compare HD video against SD video • New field called ‘Video quality’ • Available in: • Video by ad name report • Custom report builder • Excel Plug-in • Note: HD (>= 1800 Kbps), SD (<1800 Kbps)
Data capture reporting • Previously: data capture form data was only accessible from the creative tab