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SEO Uncovered: The 7 Secrets Every Business Must Know to LEGALLY STEAL Floods of FREE Google Traffic From Your Competition. What is SEO? Search en gine opt i mi za tion (noun)
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SEO Uncovered: The 7 Secrets Every Business Must Know to LEGALLY STEAL Floods of FREE Google Traffic From Your Competition
What is SEO? Search en gine opt i mi zation (noun) Search engine optimization (SEO) is the process of improving the visibility of a website or a web page in search engines via the unpaid (“natural” or “organic”) search results.
SEO is inbound marketing • Getting your products and services in front of prospective customers at the moment they are actively looking • SEO doesn’t interrupt • With SEO you are earning and building trust
Misconceptions • SEO is free marketing! • SEO doesn’t work • SEO is black magic • SEO is rocket science • SEO is illegal
REALITY: SEO is a legitimate marketing strategy practiced by almost all of the world’s most successful companies
Who cares? • There are over two billion people online • 93% of online experiences begin with a search engine • The majority of web traffic is driven by the ‘Big Three’ search engines-Google, Bing and Yahoo (Search Engine Journal)
Who cares? • 77% of search engine users choose organic over paid listings1 • 67% choose organic search engine results when purchasing2 • Organic click-through generates 25% higher conversion rates than PPC3 (1,2,3 Search Metrics)
Keyword phrase: “Auto Insurance” Search volume = 110,000 CPC = $66.31 Total value = $6,964,100
Keyword phrase: “Auto Insurance” Search volume = 110,000 CPC = $66.31 Total value = $6,964,100 x 42% = $2,924,922 in organic traffic monthly!
Benefits of SEO • Boost website traffic • Increase visibility among target audience • Build relationships and influence • Increase conversions (subscribers, members, etc.) • Increase sales (gain new customers0 • Measurable results • The big guys can’t out bid you!
Downsides of SEO • Can be slow to get results • Somewhat our of your control • Requires consistent effort over time • No guarantees
1. It all starts with keywords • Knowing your target keywords is your first step • Choose your battles • Don’t spread yourself too thin
2. Content is King • Search engines “feed” on content • Train Google to keep crawling and indexing your site • Don’t worry about keywords; just keep things relevant (most of the time) • “Naturally” include your keywords in your content
3. Have an active social media presence • Social is becoming more important to search engines • Add sharing buttons to your website to promote sharing! “[The] lines of SEO and Social Media continue to be blurred” (Jen Lopez, Community Manager at SEOMoz)
4. Get links from other high value sites • A link is like a vote for your site • Some votes matter more than others • More links = GOOD
5. VIDEO! • Google LOVES video! • Roll the camera regularly! • Use your keywords in the video and the video title
6. Channels refer to major “authority” sites • Examples include: - YouTube - Amazon - Craig’s List - Pinterest - Et. Al • Get your content on them • They will rank!
7. If you are local, optimize for local • Include local keywords throughout content and site • Add your local address to your site • Add your local phone number • Get listed in all local directories • Create local videos • Get links from local organizations and businesses
*BONUS SECRET* 8. Create content for people • Not for search engines • If people like your content, Google will take note… • Make it personal-share your story
*BONUS SECRET* 9. Be consistent over time • SEO is a marathon, not a sprint
Is SEO a good marketing strategy for my particular business?
How can I avoid common mistakes that businesses make with SEO?
Should I hire an SEO consultant to do all of this stuff for me?
If I’m redesigning my website, when should I start thinking about SEO?
If I hire someone, how can I be sure they won’t use black hat techniques?
How else can I improve my rank? • Ask Google for advice!* • Keep things “white hat” in nature • Install Google Analytics on your site (if you haven’t already) *Google’s Webmaster Guidelines tell you virtually everything you need to know.
SEO: Not a Slam Dunk • Time commitment ($) • Complexity • Content creation • Established competition (breaking in) • Link building (can be laborious, slow) • Time required to achieve results • Finding consultants you can trust
SEO: It’s worth it! • The ROI of SEO is well documented • A highly ranked website works 24/7, when your sales team is asleep • A well-ranked website is a very sellable asset
Small biz survey “If you had to put all your marketing time and budget into only one channel, what would it be?”
Survey says… Answer: SEO! SEO is considered the single most important marketing channel for SMBs. (MerchantCircle/Reply.com survey of 2,500 US small businesses)