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Google & Online Marketing Seminar Helping You Build Your Online Presence

Google & Online Marketing Seminar Helping You Build Your Online Presence. Seth Meyerowitz Certified Google Business Trainer www.UBE-Inc.com - seminars@UBE-Inc.com - 516-330-3865. Show Happy Hound Video http:// www.youtube.com/watch?v=WqHpm7OLWWY. AdWords 101.

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Google & Online Marketing Seminar Helping You Build Your Online Presence

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  1. Google & Online Marketing Seminar Helping You Build Your Online Presence Seth MeyerowitzCertified Google Business Trainerwww.UBE-Inc.com - seminars@UBE-Inc.com - 516-330-3865

  2. Show Happy Hound Videohttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WqHpm7OLWWY

  3. AdWords 101 Find out more about Google‘s products at: www.google.com/services/smallbusiness

  4. Agenda • Introduction to AdWords • How Google ranks ads • The importance of structure • How to choose the right keywords • How to write great ads • Q&A

  5. Introduction to AdWords

  6. In this section we’ll cover... • An introduction to Google AdWords • Common questions from new advertisers • The importance of setting goals • Where your ads can show: An explanation of the Google Ad Network • How to sign up

  7. What is Google AdWords? • AdWords is Google’s advertising program • Advertisers select keywords; ads appear next to the search results on Google.com • Advertisers can also show ads on hundreds of thousands of websites • Ads are matched to Web pages relevant to advertisers’ keywords

  8. Which keywords should I use? Is AdWords appropriate for my small business? How will I be charged? The questions people ask How do I write a great ad? Where will my ads appear? How do I get my ad in the #1 position? What questions do you have?

  9. Before we begin... what are your goals? I want to open my email every morning and see at least 3 new orders. I want five quality leads a day for my sales team to call. I’d like to get as many clicks as I can for less than $0.80 per click. I want to double my customer base. I’d like to increase sales by 15 percent. I want at least 40 visits to my website every day. I want an ROI of 250 percent on all sales coming from AdWords.

  10. OK, now you know what you want Where do ads appear?

  11. Google.com

  12. The Search Partners

  13. Target Users by Network & Device

  14. The Google Display Network

  15. Create an account www.google.com/services/smallbusiness

  16. How Google Ranks Ads

  17. In this section we’ll cover... • How the AdWords auction works • How Google calculates your place in the auction • What’s Max CPC? • How Quality Score is calculated • How all this affects what you pay for a click

  18. How does AdWords work? Instant Auction A live auction is run for every search Ad Position = Quality x Your Bid Quality Factors: Clickthrough rate, keyword relevance, ad relevance and historical performance

  19. Everyone wants to be in position #1? Is This Best? The position of each ad is determined using a ranking formula.

  20. The magic ad ranking formula x Maximum Cost-Per-Click Bid (Max. CPC) = Quality Score Ad Rank The Bottom Line: If you have a great Quality Score, you can still show in a high position with a low bid

  21. What is your Max CPC? • The maximum price you are prepared to pay for a click • Your ‘bid’ in the AdWords auction

  22. What is Quality Score? • A measure of how relevant and useful your ads are. • Do your ads & keywords provide a good user experience? Which Is Best? POOR OK GREAT Note: The above example is for demonstration purposes only. It is not meant to indicate the actual quality score of the ads.

  23. Quality Score measures user experience

  24. How Google calculates Quality Score Clickthrough-Rate (CTR) Of the people who saw your ad, how many clicked on it? + Relevancy Do your keywords match your ads? Does the search query match your keyword? + Landing Page Quality Does your landing page provide a good user experience? Click-through rate (CTR)How often do people click on your ad when it is shown?

  25. You can see your Quality Score for each keyword

  26. 8 The magic ranking formula - example Alison Scott Jon $1.00 $1.00 $2.35 x x 3 8 10 = = x = 2nd 10 1st 7 3rd Alison, Scott and Jon are all bidding on the keyword ‘zipline kits.’ Based on their Max CPC and Quality Score, whose ad will show in first position? Who Wins #1 Spot? Ad Rank Max CPC Quality Score

  27. 10 How much do I actually pay? $.80 8 $.88 7 $min Your actual CPC is the Ad Rank of the advertiser below, divided by your Quality Score. Ad Rank Max CPC Quality Score Actual CPC $1.00 x 10 = = (8/10) Scott $1.00 (7/8) 8 = = x Alison $2.35 x 3 minimum = = Jon

  28. So you’ll show in a higher position if... • Your Quality Score is at least 5/10 for each keyword • Your bids are competitive • Both!

  29. The Importance of Structure

  30. In this section we’ll cover... • The structure and limits of a typical AdWords account • Best practices for organizing your account

  31. AdWords account structure AdWords Account Unique email address & password Billing information Campaign Campaign Daily budget Location/language targeting Distribution preference End date Daily budget Location/language targeting Distribution preference End date Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Keywords Ads Keywords Ads Keywords Ads Keywords Ads Keywords Ads Keywords Ads

  32. The WRONG way to structure an AdWords account AdWords Account “Furniture” Campaign Furniture Ad Group • The Best Furniture • Great Selection, Made in USA • Free Shipping, 5 Year Warranty. • PlantationDesign.com leather chair leather sofa coffee table end table lamp ottoman dining room table media console leather loveseat patio furniture table lamp floor lamp kids furniture living room furniture bedroom furniture desk leather sectional rugs dining room table kitchen table brass bed leather headboard dresser leather couch 25

  33. A BETTER way to structure an account AdWords Account “Furniture” Campaign “Leather Loveseats”Ad Group “Leather Chairs”Ad Group “Leather Sectionals”Ad Group Leather Sectionals Leather Sectionals Made in USA From $1,999 With 5 Year Warranty plantationdesign.com/sectionals Leather Loveseats Free Delivery When You Buy Before Christmas. Order Yours Today! plantationdesign.com/loveseat Leather Chairs Handcrafted Leather Chairs Make a Statement. View Catalog! plantationdesign.com/chairs buy handmade leather chair buy handmade leather chairs handmade leather chairs handmade leather chair buy leather chairs buy leather chair leather chair leather chairs buy leather love seats buy leather loveseats buy leather love seat buy leather loveseat leather loveseats leather love seats leather love seat leather loveseat buy leather sectional suite buy leather sectional suites leather sectional suites leather sectional suite buy leather sectional buy leather sectional leather sectional leather sectionals 26

  34. Structuring your own AdWords account for success • Create one Ad Group for each product or service • Create one Ad Group with your brand/business name as keywords • Create additional Ad Groups for variations “B&B” vs. “Bed and Breakfast” For a Plumber emergency plumbing hot water repairs hot water installation Dishwasher installation bathroom renovations drain clearing Plumber nashville For a Sports Equipment Store Tents sleeping bags portable stoves Backpacks hiking boots lanterns swiss amy knives For a Bed & Breakfast bed & breakfast nashville b&b nashville cheap nashville hotel luxury bed & breakfast luxury b&b nashville inns

  35. How to Choose the Right Keywords

  36. In this section we’ll cover... • How to begin building your keyword list • How to apply the “Goldilocks” principle • Keywords match types • The Google Keyword Tool

  37. Building a keyword list • Brainstorm business • Review website • Think like a customer • Focus on what differentiates • Include plural & singular versions • Include spelling mistakes & variations • Include product numbers & codes

  38. Use the ‘Goldilocks principle’ to pick keywords • Add all relevant keyword variations: singular/plural and synonyms • Keyword combinations, accent marks (á, é, í, ó, ú, ñ, ü, etc.) • Make keywords specific to your product or service 3 br vacation rental grayton beach tax preparation service nolensville rd faux leather storage for dvd box sets handmade black croc leather handbags accounting software for petsitting biz florida vacation rental tax preparation nashville dvd storage handmade leather bags cheap accounting software vacation tax store bags accounting Too General Just Right Too Specific

  39. What happens if my keyword is too general? Example keyword ‘vacation’ -- your ad might show for: vacation rental vacation deals vacation ideas vacations for kids vacations for singles vacations for veterans National lampoon’s european vacation permanent vacation lyrics The go-go’s vacation disney vacation club pictures from our vacation by lynne rae perkins vacation auctions vacation accrual policy Vacation agent magazine vacation air conditioning vacation anxiety General keywords = low clickthrough-rate = low Quality Score

  40. Keyword matching options 32

  41. Examples of negative keywords Service provider -become -study -class -classes -course -license -training -jobs -employment -supplies -tools -price Vacation destination -library -doctor -vet -hospital -schools -coffee -cards -history -jobs in -pictures -news -weather Frequently used -free -lyrics -second hand -used -parts -repairs -wholesale -pics -pictures -definition of -history -diy

  42. Enter your keyword The Google Keyword Tool: help finding keywords Get additional keyword suggestions

  43. How to Write Great Ads 35

  44. In this section we’ll cover... • Ad text specifications • Tips for writing better ads

  45. Ad text specifications Ad title (25 characters max, including spaces) Two description lines (35 characters max each, including spaces) Display URL (35 characters max, including spaces) Destination URL(1024 characters max, including spaces)

  46. What is a good AdWords ad? A good ad: • Is relevant to the keywords in the ad groupGets a high clickthrough-rate (CTR) Effectively sells your product or serviceStands out from your competitorsIncludes a call to action What doesn’t work Vague, irrelevant, unclear ads without useful information.

  47. What doesn‘t work Vague, irrelevant, unclear ads without useful information. Ask yourself just 3 questions to help you write great ads!

  48. 1. What sets your business apart? Useful Ads Sets You Apart “We won an award in 2009” “All our products are custom made” “We always show up on time” “We’re open 7 days a week” “We only sell products made in the USA” “We have a money back guarantee” “We have 30 years experience” “Free shipping if you buy two” Why would someone choose your business over a competitor?Examples: 2. Can you describe your products or services? Describe specific or technical details of your products or services.Examples: “Evening classes available” “24/7 onsite support” “On time or it’s free” “Made from recycled materials” “Battery lasts up to 8 hours” “From $16 per square foot” 3. What is your call to action? After someone clicks on your ad and visits your website, what is it you want them to do next?Examples: “Call us to request a free quote” “Download a 30-day free trial” “Sign up for our mailing list” “Learn more about osteoporosis” “Call us and order a pizza” “Request a call back” CallToAction

  49. Put it all together for better ads

  50. Link to the best landing page Always direct traffic to the most useful page on the site.

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