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Social Web. Many slides adapted from Lora Aroyo http :// de.slideshare.net / laroyo. Daten & Informationen. Governance. Protokolle. Verhalten. Anwendungen. Emotion. Sozialisation. Wissen. Kognition. Produzieren. Konsumieren. Beobachtbare Makro-Effekte im Web.
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Social Web Manyslidesadaptedfrom Lora Aroyohttp://de.slideshare.net/laroyo
Daten & Informationen Governance Protokolle Verhalten Anwendungen Emotion Sozialisation Wissen Kognition Produzieren Konsumieren BeobachtbareMakro-Effekteim Web BeobachtbareMikro-Interaktionen im Web WWW
MotivationsforMicro-interactions • Economicincentives • Earningmoney • Buyinggoods • Trading • Auctions • Socialincentives • Communicating • Dating (17% couples in SF in 2010 via internet) • Peer groups • Interest groups • Self-expression • Blogs • Entertainment • Music • Video • ... Multiple motivationsmayexistforoneaction Motivationsmayoverlap
Social Web Sites = Social Media Sites + Social Networking Sites
Social Sites Categories • Socialnetworkingsites (open vsclosed) • General purpose: e.g. Facebook, LinkedIn • Vertical: e.g. Couchsurfing, Dogster • Socialmediasites (open vsclosed) • Media types • Images: Flickr,... • Video: YouTube, MyVideo,... • Audio: Spotify, Last.fm,...
http://www.fastcodesign.com/1664377/infographic-of-the-day-the-alchemy-behind-facebook-and-youtubehttp://www.fastcodesign.com/1664377/infographic-of-the-day-the-alchemy-behind-facebook-and-youtube
CPM (cost per mille) Also CPI (cost per impression) An exampleofcomputingthe CPM: • Total costforrunningthe ad is $15,000. • The total estimatedaudienceis 2,400,000 people. • CPM iscalculatedas: ($15,000/2,400,000)*1000 = $6.25 per thousandviews
CPC (cost per click) Also cost per action (CPA) • Much higherthan per thousandviews • Conversion rate • eCPM • EffectivCost per Mille
Socialmediaactivities in numbers • 800+ million – # ofusers on Facebook bythe end of 2011. • 350 million – # ofFacebook usersthat log in totheserviceusingtheir mobile phone. • 100 million – # ofactiveTwitterusers in 2011. • 18.1 million – People following Lady Gaga. Twitter’smostpopularuser. • 250 million – # oftweets per day (October 2011). • 8,868 – # oftweets per second in August forthe MTV Video Music Awards. • 70 million – Total # ofWordPressblogsbythe end of 2011. • 1 billion – The numberofmessagessentwithWhatsAppduringoneday (October 2011). • 2.4 billion – Socialnetworkingaccountsworldwide. http://royal.pingdom.com/2012/01/17/internet-2011-in-numbers/
“TenetsofSocial Computing”* innovationwill shiftfrom top-down tobottom-up • Designer housevsdesignercrowd • Consultant vstopcoder valuewill shiftfromownershiptoexperience • Car vsdriving • CDs vsaudiofilesowningvsrighttostreamaudio power will shiftfrominstitutionstocommunities • Uni Bayreuth vsGuttenplag Charlene Li (2006), http://www.socialcustomer.com/2006/02/the_forrester_s.html 10 yearsofsocialcomputing Not muchhaschanged?
Social Web Stakeholders • Service providers • Community owners (often, but not always, identicalwith 1) • Institutionalactors • Politics • Companies • Brand owners • Marketers • Salesinstitutions • Lobby groups
Social Web Stakeholders • Service providers • Community owners (often, but not always, identicalwith 1) • Institutionalactors • ... • NGOs • https://www.facebook.com/amnestyglobal?fref=ts • Diverse • https://www.facebook.com/pages/Institute-for-Web-Science-and-Technologies-WeST • https://www.facebook.com/MasterWebScience?fref=ts • Community member • Often: you!
Daten & Informationen Governance Protokolle Verhalten Anwendungen Emotion Sozialisation Wissen Kognition Produzieren Konsumieren BeobachtbareMakro-Effekteim Web BeobachtbareMikro-Interaktionen im Web WWW
Someinterestingquestionsforhosters & c owners Howtoretainusers on the web site • Maximizing ad gains (ad impressions) • Collectingandsellingdata (e.g. aboutusers) • Involvingthem in higher-valueactions • Targetedadvertising – higherclick-throughandconversionrates! • Datingservicestosingles • Childcareofferingstoparents • Sports ads in YouTube sportsvideos • Upselling: • makingthempayfor premium services(freemiummodel) • Making thempayforfurtherservices (games on FB) • Making thempayforotherservices(e.g. freemusic online, but highlypaidlifeconcerts!)
Someinterestingquestionsforinstitutions Howtoaddresscommunitymembers such that • Ownreputationisimproved • Ownbrandismorevisibleand fashionable • Triggeringcommunitymembersto do: • Buying • Recommendationstofriends • Donationsto non-commercial institutions • Joining a group / studying ... • ...
Someinterestingquestionsforyou • Communicate • Encounter • Learn • Self-express myself • Entertainmyself • Music • Video • ... • ... • Howto • Earnmoney • Buygoods • Trade Trust Recommendations
New meansofcommunication • Beyond email, textmessaging, and mobile phone • Asychronous (not requiring real-time response) • A lotofcommunicationseems irrelevant & trivial • Somecanbehelpfulandinteresting • Somepeopleaddicted • Interestingtwistbetweenadvertisements, self-promotion andstillingcuriosityaboutcelebrities
New form ofcommunities • Social web sitesare in essence online communities • Groups around a numberofnaturalattributes • Schools attended • Employers • Cities ofresidence • Groups aroundany type ofinterest, hobbyorcause • Helpingeachotherwininformation • Advice • Personal networks • Specificfunctions • LinkedInmostsuccessfulforitsrecruitmentservices
New sourceofknowledge • beyondwhatsearchenginescandiginto • Search for „interesting cool video“ on Google • People candigintotheirnetworkofconnectionsto find answerstoquestions • Folklore knowledge • Friends-basednewsupdates • Friends-basedsenrendipity • „world-widedirectories“ ofpeople
New sourceofentertainment • Recommendationsfor • Movies • Music • Artists • Readings • Trivia • ...
New venueforself-expression • A surprisingly large numberofpeoplehavehad a strong desireforself-expression anddesireforself-satisfactionthatcomesfromhelpingothers • A majorreasonfor Wikipedia success • More than 10 millionarticles • Hundredsofthousandsofvolunteers • Reallyactivecrowdismuchsmaller • Postingseemstocreate a sense ofself-assuranceandbelonging
Systematicoverpredictionandunderestimation Recently in thenews: „Social Web isoverrated“ „Goodforserviceproviders“ „badforus“ • Tenet • Near-future implicationsareoverrated • Long-term implicationsareunderestimated • ....in almosteveryfieldatalmostany time...
Systematicoverpredictionandunderestimation Onereason:
Cognitive Surplus Let‘stalkabout human computationlater....